Sascha Giest

Co-founder, Partner and Managing Director

Sascha Giest was active on the Westgrund AG board of directors in Berlin until its takeover by the Adler Real Estate AG in July 2015. Since joining Westgrund in October of 2013, he contributed quite significantly to the successful and rapid growth of the company from almost 5,000 to currently about 20,000 residential units. He placed a number of expedient increases in the company’s capital stock bringing a relatively small and illiquid company with less than 100 million market capital a market value of over 400 million at last count, and an impressive international and professional investor base. He strategically reoriented the company during the course of its growth. As a result, this generated considerable assets for all investors involved.

Previously Mr. Giest was active in the acquisition of new housing stock for the Berlin municipal housing company GEWOBAG. In a relatively short time period over 7,000 residential dwellings could be acquired during a very attractive market phase.

Up until then Mr. Giest worked for many years in London for the international investment banks JPMorgan and Barclays, where his core activities were acquisition consulting, financing and real estate. He was instrumental in the securitization process of Deutsche Annington and Vitus and in purchase financing for clients such as Blackstone, Terra Firma and Babcock & Brown.

Mr. Giest has his Diplom in business administration specializing in banking. At Velero Partners he is chiefly responsible for working with our bank and investment partners, but will also jump in to add his support to the purchasing business unit as need be.

Thomas Lange

Co-founder, Partner and Managing Director

Along with many years of experience in the German housing industry, Thomas Lange brings with him an extensive network of industry contacts in various areas. In the past 16 years he has been active in acquiring and selling residential real estate, their assessment, and other consultancy activities. Most recently, Mr. Lange was director of the transactions unit of Westgrund AG where he helped design the successful growth of the company.

Up until then, he worked for many years at the BBT Transaction GmbH in Berlin, where he was responsible for buying, selling and assessing real estate for a broad spectrum of clients. Mr. Lange earned his Diplom in commercial management specializing in real estate. His particular strength at Velero Partners is the selection and assessment of new real estate offers. He manages the entire acquisition process from start to finish, the purchase of investment properties as well as the subsequent management thereof.

Sascha Giest

Mitbegründer, Gesellschafter und Geschäftsführer

Herr Giest war Vorstand der Westgrund AG in Berlin bis zu ihrer Übernahme durch die Adler Real Estate AG im Juli 2015. Er hat seit seinem Eintritt in die Westgrund im Oktober 2013 ganz wesentlich zum erfolgreichen und zügigen Wachstum der Gesellschaft von knapp 5.000 auf nunmehr etwa 20.000 Wohnungen beigetragen. Er hat mehrere erfolgreiche Kapitalerhöhungen für die Gesellschaft platziert und damit ein mit unter 100 Mio Euro Marktkapitalisierung für den Aktienmarkt relativ kleines und illiquides Unternehmen auf zuletzt über 400 Mio Euro Marktwert mit internationaler und professioneller Investorenbasis gebracht. Operativ hat er das Unternehmen im Zuge dieses Wachstums neu ausgerichtet und professionalisiert. Im Ergebnis konnten dadurch erhebliche Werte für die beteiligten Investoren generiert werden.

Zuvor war Herr Giest für das Berliner Wohnungsunternehmen GEWOBAG aktiv im Ankauf von neuen Wohnungsbeständen, wobei in relativ kurzer Zeit über 7.000 Wohnungen in einer sehr attraktiven Marktphase angekauft werden konnten.

Davor war Herr Giest lange Jahre für die internationalen Investmentbanken JPMorgan und Barclays aus London heraus tätig, hauptsächlich in den Bereichen Übernahmeberatung, Finanzierung und Immobilien. Dabei war er maßgeblich an den erfolgreichen Verbriefungen der Deutschen Annington und Vitus beteiligt und in der Ankaufsfinanzierung für Kunden wie Blackstone, Terra Firma und Babcock & Brown aktiv.

Herr Giest ist Diplom-Betriebswirt der Fachrichtung Bank. Er ist bei Velero Partners insbesondere verantwortlich für die Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Bank- und Investitionspartnern, wird aber auch den Ankaufsbereich je nach Bedarf tatkräftig unterstützen.

Thomas Lange

Mitbegründer, Gesellschafter und Geschäftsführer

Herr Lange bringt langjährige Erfahrung und ein sehr breites Netzwerk in vielen verschiedenen Bereichen der deutschen Wohnungswirtschaft mit. Er war in den vergangenen 16 Jahren sowohl im An- und Verkauf von Wohnimmobilien tätig als auch in der Bewertung und anderen Beratungsaktivitäten. Zuletzt war Herr Lange Leiter des Transaktionsbereichs der Westgrund AG und hat dort das erfolgreiche Wachstum des Unternehmens maßgeblich mitgestaltet. Davor war er lange Jahre bei der BBT Transaction & Valuation GmbH in Berlin, wo er für ein breites Spektrum an Auftraggebern für Ankauf, Verkauf und Bewertung von Immobilien verantwortlich war.

Herr Lange ist Diplom-Kaufmann mit Schwerpunkt Immobilien. Er zeichnet bei Velero Partners insbesondere für die Auswahl und Prüfung von neuen Immobilienangeboten, den gesamten Ankaufsprozess, den Ankauf von Renditeobjekten als auch die anschließende Bewirtschaftung verantwortlich.